

News from the Ohio Turnpike

682 Prospect Street ◆ Berea, Ohio 44017-2799 440.234.2081 (P) ◆ 440.234.3881 (F) www.ohioturnpike.org

October 21, 2013 (For Immediate Release) 440-234-2081, ext. 1171

Contact: Lauren Hakos Marketing & Communications Mgr.

Ohio Turnpike holds its 600th Commission meeting

October 21, 2013 (Berea, OH) - A significant and historic event occurred at the Ohio Turnpike and Infrastructure Commission meeting, when Chairman Jerry Hruby announced to members and guests that this would be the 600th meeting of the Commission.

The first meeting was held more than 64 years ago on Sept. 8, 1949. It was then, that Governor Frank J. Lausche appointed Messrs. J. Gordon McKay, Murray Seasongood, O. L. Teagarden and James W. Shocknessy to be members of the Ohio Turnpike Commission⁽¹⁾ and appointed T. J. Kauer to serve as member ex officio. Also during this meeting, members were handed their official commissions by the Secretary to the Governor, and each signed an oath as provided by Section 7 of Article XV of the Constitution of the State of Ohio.

During the first meeting, other official business occurred with various nominations for Chairman, Vice Chairman, and Secretary-Treasurer. James W. Shocknessy, for which the Turnpike is now named, was appointed as the first Chairman.

The original Commission members approved the formation of a committee, consisting of the Chairman and Secretary-Treasurer, who were charged with preparing suggested bylaws for the regulation of the affairs of the Commission and the conduct of its business (as provided in Section 1205, subsection (a) of the General Code of Ohio). This committee was also asked to create an official seal for the Commission⁽¹⁾.

Before the first meeting concluded, the Chairman requested the Director of Highways to advise the group regarding which studies should be undertaken immediately, within the limitations of Section 20, to insure the fulfillment of the purposes of the Act⁽²⁾.

Although the overall meeting agenda in 1949 was brief, the events of the first meeting were significant. Now, 64 years later, the Commission operates in much the same way as it did then. While there are a few more Commission members, the duties and responsibilities to maintain the Ohio Turnpike as part of the original Turnpike Act⁽²⁾ remain the same.

Current Chairman Jerry Hruby explained what an honor it is to serve on such a long and distinguished Commission. He went on to cite that the group was delegated authority to oversee the operations of the Ohio Turnpike, which is now part of an enormous transportation system, noting that the Turnpike has consistently been a superior road of travel to the motoring public for over six decades.

Chairman Hruby went on to commend the originators of the Turnpike Commission and their dedication to the making the Turnpike dream a reality. "We have the privilege to sit here today and serve as members of this fine organization due to the foresight of the amazing leaders who came before us," Chairman Hruby said. He added, "I believe we have maintained the road, its services and our commitment to our customers in such a way that would have made these founding Commission members very proud."

- ### -

⁽¹⁾ The Ohio Turnpike Commission's name and official seal was changed on July 1, 2013. It is now named the Ohio Turnpike and Infrastructure Commission and a new seal was created to reflect this change.

⁽²⁾ The Ohio Turnpike Commission (the "Commission") is a body corporate and politic in the State of Ohio created by the Ohio Turnpike Act (Chapter 5537, Ohio Revised Code) adopted by the 98th Ohio General Assembly, effective September 1, 1949. Commission is authorized and empowered to construct, maintain, repair, and operate the Turnpike system at such locations as shall be approved by the Governor of the State of Ohio and in accordance with such alignment and design standards as are approved by the Director of the Ohio Department of Transportation. The Commission is also authorized and empowered to issue Turnpike Revenue Bonds of the State of Ohio, payable solely from revenues. Under provisions of the Act, Turnpike Revenue Bonds shall not be deemed to constitute a debt or a pledge of faith and credit of the State or any political subdivision thereof and Turnpike monies are not available to the State of Ohio or any political subdivision of the State.



Governor Frank J. Lausche appointing O. L. Teagarden



James W. Shocknessy

J. Gordon McKay



Murray Seasongood



T. J. Kauer



Shocknessy (3rd from left) standing on the ground of what would be the future Ohio Turnpike.